My Own Worst Enemy

The world is on my shoulders
As I struggle with the weight,
The world is on my shoulders
I’m left questioning my fate,
The world is on my shoulders
And I don’t know what to do;
When it comes to managing money
It seems I really don’t have a clue!

It really is quite simple…
But I haven’t got a plan.
It really is quite simple…
I’m doing the best I can.
It really is quite simple
You know exactly what to do,
When it comes to managing money
You’d may as well flush it down the loo!

Just find a little balance,
But my life is too much fun.
Just find a little balance
Think of all good things to come;
Just find a little balance
Stop spending the way you do,
When it comes to managing money
The only one stopping you, is you!

About kazhamilton

I love to laugh, I believe smiles are the most precious things in the world, patience is a virtue, and loyalty is so, so important. I believe in treating people how you would like to be treated, and I believe everyone deserves a chance. Poetry, quite simply put, is a part of me.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Own Worst Enemy

  1. brandinex says:

    It seems to me that managing money is simple. Pay all ur bills as soon as u get paid, then if u have money spend it, and if u don’t don’t. It helps to have a rainy day fund too, but those can be hard to keep around. Maybe its easy for me because I live the simple life. Just a thought. Excellent poem, good work!

    • kazhamilton says:

      You are exactly right! I wrote this poem when I was having financial struggles, and I re-read it when I feel the strain pinches me again. No excuses, it’s my own fault for spending more than I earn. You are correct I should pay bills and then save for the chance to do/ buy something nice. I should spend within my means, I don’t go crazy on what I buy, however I do struggle and need to learn that ‘living the quiet life’, in order to save some pennies (or just not go over drawn) isn’t such a bad thing. I am currently in the process of teaching myself and trying to learn this lesson at the present moment. Thank you 🙂

Leave a comment