If Life Was Left Down to Fate

If I no longer could find the right words
Because words no longer made sense,
And sense was no longer sensible;
Is it ok to sit on the fence?
No care for ‘yes/no’s’ – just maybes,
With no desire to argue my point,
For surely the point is pointless now
If left to the toss of a coin.
No need to have heartfelt discussions,
No use for mind blowing debates,
Why try to have an opinion when
It can all be left down to fate?
You see, the reason for these questions;
I’m not sure I’m one to agree,
For if we lived our lives without passion
Ask, how boring our lives would be?
Life isn’t just left down to chances,
Luck is not dished out on a plate,
Although I agree, how nice would it be
If we could gobble up luck like cakes?
If your sure life is one big gamble,
Which to be honest it seems it could be,
Instead of a game of poker
Should it be played more like monopoly?
We start at the line together,
Moves made with the roll of a dice,
Now and then we’ll lose sight of each other
With some of us paying the price.
But not far from our reach are our chances;
Some will cross these more often it seems,
However it’s all about decisions,
Investing, and trying to succeed.
At times we will run round in circles
Hoping to find a ‘get out of jail free’
And just like the game, life lasts longer for some
But whilst here, try to be all you can be.
Let’s finish with one last question,
Why would we not be true to ourselves?
Tell me what’s life to be if we don’t follow our dreams,
And Make the most of what’s laid out on our shelves?

About kazhamilton

I love to laugh, I believe smiles are the most precious things in the world, patience is a virtue, and loyalty is so, so important. I believe in treating people how you would like to be treated, and I believe everyone deserves a chance. Poetry, quite simply put, is a part of me.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment