What a Weekend!

Happy Tuesday. I haven’t blogged for a few days now…. four to be exact!! Today I’d like to write about, actually I won’t spell it out for you, after all the clue is in the title.

Easter weekend has been and gone, and I’m left with happy thoughts, more memories made, and dare I say it, feeling a little sleepy eyed and most definitely in need of a nice early night. The last poem I blogged was called The Absence of a Daddy’s Girl – the timing was deliberate. My father lives and works in Thailand, which is in fact thousands of miles away from the place I call home – England. It would be fair to call me a daddy’s girl. It would also be fair to call me a mummy’s girl. I’m not taking sides here, I’m a fair player and I play for both teams. As with anyone who has a strong parental bond can probably imagine;(whether you are the parent or the child) I miss my father very much. He once lived not even 5 minutes walk away from me, it would now take me at the very least a 12 hour flight, a few hours travel each end (on route to and from the airports) and more money than I ever seem to have spare. I wrote the poem one evening this time last year after speaking to my dad on the phone. Every word explained exactly how I was feeling at that moment in time. The sadness, the pain, how much I missed him, how much he means to me and if I’m honest nothing has changed, but what has changed is learning to deal with the situation. There is a great quote I know and love, and in this case it applies perfectly:

“If you don’t like something, change it; if you can’t change it, change the way you think about it. ” ― Mary Engelbreit

and that my blogging friends, is exactly how I have gone about it. Of course I have days where all I want is to see his face, but the most important thing to me is that he is safe, and he is happy, and I can tell you now he is both of those things. The weekend just gone was especially precious to me for a few reasons, the man I have been speaking of for the last couple of minutes (my father) came home!! He came back to the UK for 4 days. It may not sound much but 4 days is better than no days and to see his face is better than to not see his face, and to have a real life daddy cuddle was quite possibly one of the greatest feelings in the world. He came back for my Uncles Wedding, which was on Saturday. So as you can imagine, I’ve had a lovely weekend full of family, friends, fun, Chocolate (Courtesy of the Easter Bunny) drinks, late nights, busy days and plenty of smiles. I hope, dear readers, your weekends were much the same – at the very least I hope you too shared a little bit of happiness. 

“Life may not be the party we hoped for… but while we’re here we may as well dance.”

― Jeanne C. SteinBlood Drive

 

About kazhamilton

I love to laugh, I believe smiles are the most precious things in the world, patience is a virtue, and loyalty is so, so important. I believe in treating people how you would like to be treated, and I believe everyone deserves a chance. Poetry, quite simply put, is a part of me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to What a Weekend!

  1. Chris Martin says:

    Well, this is where you got to?!!!!! I shall have to have a word with ‘daddy’ for keeping you away from blogging for so long!!!!!! Hehe!! On a serious note, this was a real heartwarmer to read! You show us that sense of love and devotion to your father like not many I know…maybe the fact he actually lives so far from home lets you appreciate him a little more than most who have their dads around all the time?? Just a thought?? But there is no doubting how happy and contented he makes you!!! I’m certain he couldn’t want a better daughter than you!!! When he visits, he must be really looking forward to spending some time with you, and getting that all important ‘hug’!! Delighted you had such fun over Easter!!! You won’t forget it, I’m sure!
    Take care, Chris.

Leave a comment