“Do unto others as you would have them do to you”

It doesn’t take a lot, as human beings to remind us just how fragile and vulnerable we really are. How no matter the actions we chose to take, the morals we chose to hold and the life style we chose to live by, not every one holds the same values. I was reminded this once again last night. Two very dear friends of mine were holding/promoting a night in a bar/club, which they’d put a lot of time and effort into trying to throw a fun and welcoming party. I guess one thing you can’t guarantee when you hold nights like these, is the clientele you might attract. My night ended far from desired, what started off for me as a catch up with old friends, a few drinks and a fair few laughs turned into something quite the contrary. I used to go out partying quite a lot, I guess I’ve tamed as I’m reaching 30, however I wanted to show face, and support my friends in there effort to put on a good night. I’m sure apart from what I am about to tell you, they succeeded on all accounts, but the actions of one very sad soul paid detriment to me, probably the clubs reputation, but most of all, to my friend who was unsuspectedly and unjustifiably bottled.  For someone to say, it came out of no where, will always be hard to believe, however, this isn’t the first time I have witnessed such evil, unprovoked action from a person, when their sole intention was hurt another. If you have read my other blog posts, I hope it is quite apparent, I’m a lover, not a fighter, which is why it saddens me even more to try and understand there are just some really nasty people out there. What went from me and my friends being silly, taking photos of ourselves and each other at the bar on my iPhone, to two guys randomly jumping in the photo and pulling silly faces and us all laughing about it, before carrying on with what we were doing – taking photos, resulted in my friend literally ending up on the floor in a pool of blood, after being knocked out, unsuspectedly whilst posing for a group photograph with me and another friend. I can honestly say there was no interaction, rhyme or reason for this brutal force of attack upon him, one of the guys who had previously jumped into our photo had obviously set out upon his night with one intent, to hurt someone, and hurt someone he did. It’s probably a good thing shock set in, and my friend can’t remember any thing, i just hope its not concussion, because he is going to wake up with a very sore head – he was taken off in an ambulance. I’ve only ever seen that amount of blood on and around somebody on one other occasion. When another friend was randomly stabbed in the street. I was in complete disbelief and utter states of shock on both occasions, it all happened so fast, and  it’s crazy how a night can go from ten to zero in seconds. What sort of world do we live in, where such hate can appear in your life in a blink of an eye. Luckily, the guy who did this was arrested. Despite his failed attempt of running away, the door staff done an admirable job in chasing and catching him a fair distance down the road, then restraining him until the police arrived. It took 4 door staff to restrain him and then 3 police officers to cuff and hold him down until a van arrived. I can only hope he pays for his actions. In law and in mind. It makes my life feel a little less safe, and a lot more concerned for others that are victims of such crime or worse. I guess the only thing I can take from this, and the only advice I can offer to you is to “do unto others as you would have them do to you.” We can’t control what’s round the corner, and we can’t control others attitudes, but if we continue to work on ourselves, and keep our own morals high, we can only hope our ways will rub off on those who seem to so desperately need them. A little more love in this world wouldn’t go amiss.

About kazhamilton

I love to laugh, I believe smiles are the most precious things in the world, patience is a virtue, and loyalty is so, so important. I believe in treating people how you would like to be treated, and I believe everyone deserves a chance. Poetry, quite simply put, is a part of me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment